“The cure for anything..

..is salt water: sweat, tears, or the sea.” –Isak Dinesen

When life hands you a mess and you aren’t sure of the best way to clean it up at the present moment I have found there are few things more calming, peaceful and grounding then a nice drive, to a secluded place – preferably with water, even if it isn’t the sea.

Yesterday was the perfect spring day, about 65 degrees, sun shining, not a cloud in the sky.  I just sat right on this riverbank for about an hour, feeling the warmth on my back, and taking in the reminiscent smell of muddy river water.  Just breathing in the wonderful outdoors and noticing all of the life moving around me; a water moccasin slithering across the tree branch in the water, a shimmery baby dragon fly coming to sit next to my beach towel, birds hoping around in the greenery.

Suddenly everything didn’t seem so big and bad anymore – it seemed further and further away – and so did I.

Even if its just a lonesome, overlooked riverbank, I hope everyone finds a place they can go where the outside world gets a little quieter, as for me, I think my little slice of heaven will become a frequented friend.

Leave a Reply

